Phone: 020 8858 5497 Email:


At Sherington, we believe that children in the Foundation Stage learn best by being proactive in helping to shape their own curriculum. Learning is made more engaging by following the needs and interests of the children.

In the Early Years Curriculum, there are 7 areas of learning, and planning ensures that children can progress in all of these areas, with activities appropriate to their developmental stage.

These areas are: Personal, Social and Emotional Development; Communication and Language; Physical Development; Literacy; Maths; Understanding the World; and Expressive Arts and Design.   


Morning sessions start at 8.45am and finish at 11.45am.

Afternoon sessions start at 12:30pm and finish at 3:30pm.

Learning Journals:

This year we will be adding pictures and observations to children’s individual learning journals. The Nursery team will be writing observations, as well as taking photographs and keeping examples of the children’s own work. We would also like to include ‘Wow Cards’, written by parents and carers to record children’s achievements outside of the Nursery setting.

Latest News