Phone: 020 8858 5497 Email:

Early Years Foundation Stage


“Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.”

Statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage

At Sherington, we believe that children in the Foundation Stage learn best by being proactive in helping to shape their own curriculum. We focus upon the characteristics of learning (playing and exploring; active learning; creating and thinking critically) in order to lay the foundations for each, unique child to become a lifelong learner: independent, responsible and reflective.

We use the Early Years Profile which, through ongoing observation and assessment, supports practitioners to build a comprehensive picture of every child as they develop and progress. The EYFS is divided into seven areas of learning.

Prime Areas: (development in these areas is fundamental to children’s success in the specific areas)

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Click here for information on the revised EYFS Framework



Reception Baseline Assessment

What is the reception baseline assessment?

The reception baseline assessment is a national assessment administered in reception classes in all primary, infant and first schools in England. This forms the baseline for primary progress measures, allowing schools to demonstrate the progress their pupils make throughout their time in primary education. This has been statutory since September 2021.

Why was it introduced?

Previously, a key measure of how well a primary school is serving its pupils was the progress they made between the end of key stage 1 (year 2) and the end of key stage 2 (year 6), giving the government an opportunity to take account of the fact that schools face different challenges given their pupils’ starting points. The new reception baseline assessment provides a snapshot of where pupils are when they arrive at school, which offers a new starting point to measure the progress that they make by the end of year 6. It has also enabled the Department for Education (DfE) to remove statutory end of key stage 1 assessments as they are no longer the starting point for progress measures.

An information video for parents about the reception baseline assessment (RBA) can be found here.  This will provide information to help you to understand a little more about what the assessment is, how it will be carried out and why it is in existence.

Click here for information on Reception Baseline Assessment (RBA)



How To Help Your Child At Home Presentation

Click here to view the presentation